top of page

Inhale, exhale... and once again


Carving out a little solitude can make a world of difference. So go ahead—give yourself a break.

It's that moment. I've finished checking homework, handing out backpacks, rummaging for baseball caps, finding car keys, bestowing kisses. The door slams shut for the last time, and I'm alone. Glad as I will be to have my family reconvene under this roof hours from now, I treasure this early-morning solitude, this small nest of time inhabited only by me. Soon I'll be up and out the door myself, but for these next sacred minutes, I will sit by the window, coffee in hand, and watch the birds and wildlife. Solitude is our soul's holiday, an opportunity to stop doing for others and to surprise and delight ourselves instead. When we are hungry, we get the signal right away, and we pay attention. Thirst is sneakier. By the time our bodies send us in search of water, we are already dehydrated. The same holds true in our thirst for solitude. By the time I begin to crave a vacation alone on a desert island, chances are my emotional well has already run dry. And so I've learned to create little islands of solitude in my daily life. We all need to have some downtime. Find your downtime whenever you can, make it a priority.

Love and hugs, Christina


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page